top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaniela Florez

Leanne Crichton Interview


After a long time without posting I don’t think there’s a better way to start off again than with this interview.


Leanne Crichton is a footballer who currently plays and helps coach for Motherwell in the SWPL1.


She has previously played for Celtic, Hibernian, Notts County and three spells at Glasgow City. During her time at City she played in the Champions League where she helped the team reach both the last 16 and quarter finals in different occasions. There she also won 7 league titles, 3 League Cups and 4 Scottish Cups last one being in 2019 in which she scores the second goal for city in a 4-3 thriller.


Crichton has been capped for Scotland 72 times scoring three goals. Throughout her time playing for Scotland she was part of the squad that qualified for Scotlands first major tournament, the Euros in 2017, and the 2019 women’s World Cup. After these 72 appearances Crichton announced her retirement from international football in January 2021.


Whilst playing for Glasgow City you reached the Champions League quarter finals twice, last time in August 2020, what was the biggest difference you noticed between Scottish league and European football?

“European football is very similar to international football, the speed is quicker, the quality of player is stronger, and the competition is greater and more intense. It is certainly more physical too; you tend to cover more distance in matches. However, that doesn’t mean the quality of Scottish football is poor, it’s just very different.”



You retired from international football in 2021 after making 72 appearances for Scotland, how do you remember your first call up and your debut for the senior squad?

“I don’t recall the early days well unfortunately, it all happened within a couple of years of my involvement with the youth national team. Although, I remember coming off the bench for my debut and was presented with my match strip afterwards.

But it was a whirlwind and probably looking back now (because the game wasn’t at the same level it was now) I didn’t appreciate the moment as much as I could have.

I do recall it being a very intimidating environment playing alongside some experienced players, however, I tried to work as hard as I possibly could.

It was a privilege though and I’m proud to think now that I made my debut as a 19yr old.”



In 2017 and 2019 you got the opportunity to play in the Euros and the World Cup, what does it feel like to get to represent your country in major tournaments like those?

“It was incredible to qualify for the Euros in 2017. That management team and group of players had worked tirelessly for the best part of a decade to get to that point, and it was one that we all truly valued.

The experience was phenomenal, from the build-up to the tournament, the travel and accommodation, it was literally the best time spent with friends.

The matches we certainly didn’t achieve what we felt we could, but we can reflect now and probably put into perspective the players we had lost to injury prior to the tournament commencing, however, to play in all those games and have my family there alongside me in the crowd was a moment I won’t forget.

The world cup was another incredible achievement and one that the squad worked extremely hard to achieve. The mindset of the nation had begun to change post Euros 2017, but certainly the love and support that we felt heading into the World Cup 2019 had increased considerably.

Again, to step foot on that pitch for the match against Argentina, was something that will live with me forever (if only the score line had remained 3-0).”



How have you fit into the your new player/coach role at Motherwell?

“I absolutely love my new role. I have an excellent working relationship with Paul Brownlie (Head Coach) and that really does make it more amazing.

We had very little in terms of a handover from last season and I was a bit apprehensive in terms of how the players would respond to me, especially coming from a rival club.

However, the reaction has been incredible, and the group of players have really engaged with what we have demanded from them.

It is very early days in our journey, but we feel like we are progressing well in the right direction.

I love the blend of playing and coaching and really do try and find a balance between both.”



How do you see women’s football growing in the next couple of years?

“Women’s football is certainly moving in the right direction. But we cannot stand still, and I think during the pandemic that was exactly what happened.


There must be a greater drive and determination to find investment at the top end of the game and ensure we generate more job opportunities for female players.


The visualisation of the game must continue to grow and develop. This will be achieved with media engagement, fulfilling a consistency that in turn, enables growth and generates interest.”



You made your move to Glasgow City in 2007 when you were 20, do you think it’s easier for girls to get involved in the game nowadays?

“Absolutely. When I began playing, there were very limited opportunities for young girls to play. I only joined my first girls’ team when I was 15. That would be unthinkable now that a young girl would have to wait that long to be provided with an opportunity to play.


Most women’s teams now have youth academies that offer opportunities to play for at least U’11. Also, there are opportunities for young girls as young as 3 years old now and it is very normal.”



What made you want to get into presenting for BBC Scotland and how have you found this experience so far?

“Nothing really ‘made’ me get into broadcasting. I basically stumbled across an opportunity back in 2017 following the liquidation of Notts County FC.


When I returned to Scotland, I was offered a couple of small appearances with various media outlets, and I went along thinking it would literally be a one-off type thing.


I was terrified for the most part, but it gave me something different to focus on and before time I realised, I really enjoyed it. Then off the back of our tournament achievements in 2017 and 2019, more opportunities came from that and before I knew it, I had fully invested in it.


I now study a full-time degree in professional sports writing and broadcasting, and I hope that more opportunities will continue to come.”



What does it feel like that one of the U15 leagues is named after you?

“It’s amazing that I have a league named after me. I guess it’s also quite bizarre too as I never thought I would have something like that happen to me in my career.


I’m so proud to have played a small part in the growth of the game in Scotland and hope to continue my work now to ensure players have resources and opportunities to play.”


I want to take this opportunity to thank Leanne for giving me the chance to do this interview and wish her all the best for the rest of the season and the rest of her career.


References

Information from her time at Glasgow City was from the Glasgow city page: https://www.glasgowcityfc.co.uk/gcfcfeatures


International career information was from SFA website: https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/players/?pid=40664&lid=2



26 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2021 by INFO FÚT. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Instagram
bottom of page